SportMalta together with the Malta Sports Journalists Association are the organizers of the SportMalta Awards- Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali, the event aimed at acknowledge all local sport enthusiasts especially athletes, coaches and sport administrators.

The SportMalta Awards- Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali, have developed year after year since their inception in 1960, Wilfred Pirotta was awarded with the annual Sportsman Award: an event which has flourished in its popularity and participation from associations and federations, sports journalists and the general public.

A number of new categories have been introduced over the years. The Awards recognize the achievements in the different levels of sports will comprise of the below categories:

Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Official of the Year, Male and Female Youth of the year and Award for the best initiative for the organization of an international event in Malta., Male and Female Special Olympics Award, Best Gozitan Athlete and the SportMalta Award selected by the general public.

History behind the Awards

Over 60 years have elapsed since the much esteemed Benny Pace dreamed of creating these awards through his journal “The Sporting Star’, during this time the choice was solely in the hands of the general public who voted for their preferred sportsperson whom they believed deserved to win. Following this initial phase the responsibility of the voting was passed on to the members of the Sports Journalists Association who used the traditional numerical sign system to cast their preferences during the event itself, later in the years this voting process used to take place some days before. However the organising committee made the decision to revert to the original live voting of course utilising modern technology in a more professional and advanced way.